Finding Auto Insurance In Nebraska After A DUI
Getting a DUI in Nebraska will result in a huge increase in auto insurance premiums. On average, for residents of Nebraska, there is an increase in auto insurance premiums of 80%, which, while high, remains below the national average of + 99%. This substantial increase in insurance costs is just one of the barriers people face after being convicted of impaired driving in Nebraska. Before navigating to a higher insurance price, the driver must first find an auto insurer that will cover them – and that is if they are allowed to retain their driving privileges. Driving privileges may be revoked after a DUI. With around 30% of traffic-related deaths caused by drunk driving, it’s not hard to see why Nebraska takes this offense so seriously.
DUI Laws in Nebraska
If you are caught driving under the influence, Nebraska DUI penalty can have serious consequences. There are three main types of consequences that DUI offenders may face: fines, jail time, and license suspension or revocation. If a license is suspended or revoked, there will likely be fees and requirements associated with the reinstatement of the license.
Primary offenders can face between seven and 60 days in jail, up to a $ 500 fine and up to six months license revocation. The second offenses could result in 30 to 180 days in jail, up to $ 500 in fines and up to 18 months license revocation. Third-time offenders can be sentenced to jail of up to one year, fines of up to $ 1,000 and revocation of license of up to fifteen years. For all offenses, the penalties can be even more severe for a blood alcohol level (BAC) of 0.15% or more.
As in most states, the penalties for a DUI or a Nebraska DWI worsen with each subsequent offense. However, for offenses to count cumulatively, each must have been committed within fifteen years of the previous one. Otherwise, the counter may reset.
How a DUI Affects Your Auto Insurance in Nebraska
On average, auto insurance in Nebraska increases by 70% for a person after being convicted of a DUI. Across the United States, a DUI conviction will increase premiums by 87% on average, making rate hikes in Nebraska cheaper than in some other states. Nonetheless, a 70% increase in auto insurance payments is not something most people will take lightly.
The rate increases occur to reflect the increased financial risk associated with insuring a high-risk driver, such as someone who has been convicted of impaired driving. In general, these drivers are more likely to cause financial damage while driving and, therefore, are more expensive to insure. One of the ways that insurance companies solve this problem is to charge higher risk drivers a higher rate. But that’s not the only cost of DWI in Nebraska.
|Pre-DUI||DUI position||Percent increase|
|Nebraska||$ 1,531||$ 2,607||+ 70%|
|national average||$ 1,674||$ 3,139||+ 87%|
Not all insurance companies will accept customers who have had a DUI or DWI conviction. Many auto insurance companies are private companies and have the right to refuse service within certain legal parameters. Some do it around issues like DUIs. Even if a driver’s current insurance company does not remove their coverage when they receive a DUI, they can refuse to renew their policy once it expires. For this reason, it might be helpful to know which local insurance companies will cover a driver who has had a DUI.
Another impact is that the state may require you to hold higher minimum coverage than the state’s usual minimum liability. Similar to rate increases to offset risk, drivers with a DUI are more likely to require higher coverage limits than those with a clean criminal record. Statistically, people who commit impaired driving offenses pose greater risks to themselves and other drivers. Requiring higher coverage limits can often help offset the financial component of this risk to some extent.
Finding Auto Insurance After a DUI in Nebraska
When it comes to finding auto insurance after a DUI, it helps to know which companies will work with high risk drivers. Each of the companies in the table below offers rates for drivers with a DUI. With rising premiums, it might be more beneficial than ever to shop around and get quotes from as many companies as possible before committing to a policy. Beyond the initial quotes, it can help compare the discounts available between companies and find the ones you would be eligible for. With an average price increase of 70%, these discounts are becoming more and more important to reduce your costs.
While some companies may refuse to insure drivers with a DUI, some of the biggest names in auto insurance will likely remain available. Each of the companies in this table are among the top rated auto insurance companies in the United States, all of which have been ranked in the JD Power Auto Insurance Study 2020. USAA, for example, has been one of the top rated auto insurers in these surveys on more than one occasion. However, this business, unlike others, is primarily reserved for military personnel and their family members.
|Auto insurance company||Average annual premium after a DUI|
|United States||$ 2,230|
|State farm||$ 1,991|
|Car owners||$ 2,717|
Frequently Asked Questions
How will a DUI in Nebraska impact my criminal record?
In Nebraska, a DUI will typically remain on a criminal record for up to 12 years. In situations where a driver is not found guilty or the court drops the charge, the DUI can be removed from a criminal record altogether.
What is the best auto insurance after a DUI?
The best policy and the best company can vary widely from person to person. In general, companies specializing in high-risk drivers may be the best place to start, but drivers may find better deals elsewhere. To start this search well, consider auto insurance companies for drivers with DUIs.
How much auto insurance do I need after a DWI in Nebraska?
The state may require that drivers with a DUI conviction carry more insurance than other drivers after obtaining a DWI in Nebraska. Typically, this will be a required amount of coverage added to the minimum liability coverage required by the state.
Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all zip codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, DC Rates shown are based on a 40 year old male and female driver with a clean driving record, credit and the following comprehensive coverage limits:
- $ 100,000 liability for bodily injury per person
- $ 300,000 liability for bodily injury per accident
- Civil liability for property damage of $ 50,000 per accident
- $ 100,000 in bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist per person
- $ 300,000 in uninsured bodily injury per accident to a motorist
- $ 500 collision deductible
- Global deductible of $ 500
To determine the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets the requirements of each state. Our basic profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and cover 12,000 miles a year.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparison purposes.
Incident: The rates were calculated by evaluating our basic profile with the following incidents applied: clean criminal record (basic), responsible accident, single speeding ticket, single conviction for driving while intoxicated and forfeiture of coverage.